h1

Metroid: Other M – “Theme” (Kuniaki Haishima)

September 5, 2010

Metroid: Other M has been a fairly controversial title, most of it stemming from fans’ strong emotions towards how they think Samus should be viewed as a character. The game has also had a large split regarding the soundtrack, which becomes pretty obvious when we consider the majority of the album is atmospherically minimalistic pieces. One of the exceptions is the “Theme,” a piano piece from the game’s epilogue – a track that was also used as the theme for Metroid.com back in March. This track in particular has received a tremendous range of feedback, mostly negative from fans who expected something a lot more edgy, but others, like the game’s director Yoshio Sakamoto, were moved to tears. I personally fall somewhere in-between, as there is something about this song that draws me to it, perhaps its fragility.

Metroid: Other M – “Theme” (Kuniaki Haishima)

The “Theme” does not have an actual name (at least not yet!). It is an emotionally stirring piece, with a beautifully delicate piano that encapsules the core of Samus’ emotions that have been denied by her tragic past. There is no instrument other than the piano. Its call and response of the piano notes is a recollection, a calling back to an old friend, a distant memory, a nostalgia, and the solitude by the window. The sadness in the piano provides a deep emotional undercurrent that Samus feels would make her too vulnerable if expressed, and the melody’s inability to coalesce suggests the impossibility of closure. It’s truly a wonderful piece and one that is given unfair treatment by hardcore gamers obsessed with edgy gunmetal gray apocalypses and smack-talk.

There are two versions of this song, the second being shorter and less-developed. The track was also played during a cutscene, to great emotional effect.

Kuniaki Haishima is better known for his work on anime, but he has also composed for several games, including Kowloon’s Gate and Siren 2. These atmospheric tracks seem to fit best with Metroid.

5 comments

  1. Normally I do not read article on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do it!
    Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, very great article.


  2. What’s up mates, how is all, and what you desire to say concerning this piece of writing, in my view its actually awesome in support of me.


  3. Ahaa, its good conversation regarding this paragraph at this place
    at this webpage, I have read all that, so now me also commenting at this place.


  4. Hi there folks, im something of a java addict. So I was reading this site
    and I honestly appreciated it. It provides many truly excellent insights that I can absorb.
    I have to say, I’ve truly been lonely presently since my bro isn’t around.
    Surfing around the on-line world provides me with a bit of piece of mind .
    I would love to give thanks to you in this excellent website document which will
    helps send out the message in regards to coffee / espresso even
    more! I personally was thinking about if you have an email subscriber list in order
    to at all times keep current on this site.


  5. If some one wants expert view concerning running a blog then i propose
    him/her to visit this web site, Keep up the good job.



Leave a Reply

