h1

Kokoro – “Kokoro Instrumental” (Yasunori Mitsuda)

February 15, 2010

For all the lovers out there – whether it’s for a special someone or just music itself! – here is the fantastic love song “Kokoro” by Yasunori Mitsuda from Kokoro, the single album of the main themes from Xenosaga. I admit I don’t find the lyrics as poetic as some of the music from Creid, so this is the instrumental version (though Joanne Hoagg has such a wonderful voice!). Maybe you can sing along! The song means “heart”, “the heart of things”, or “feeling” – and I think this last settles perfectly with this song, which is all about this sense of love and longing. I can’t help but think maybe it is reminiscent of Natsume Soseki’s classic of Japanese literature, Kokoro.

Kokoro – “Kokoro Instrumental” (Yasunori Mitsuda)

“Kokoro” is a beautiful progressive guitar piece and is the ending theme for Xenosaga. The low whistle played by Davy Spillane is full of the kind of longing that whispers through willow leaves on a summer night. The guitar is pure bliss, warm and calming. At 3:26, the theme progresses to its second half where the mournful cry of desire from Spillane’s uillean pipe grips the heart with both memory and desire. The instrumental build in the background like floating cherry blossoms is Yasunori Mitsuda on the keyboard.

While the song here is instrumental, I will, however, give the lyrics to the main chorus of the first section, as I feel they’re quite telling:

Now at last we can talk in another way.

Though I try “I love you,” is so hard to say.

If only I could be strong and say the words I feel.

Incidentally, I think Tetsuya Takahashi’s lyrics to “Pain” perfectly illustrate that sense of longing in love:

Kindness is something I don’t want or need,

The sunshine would just dissolve me into light

Give me a pain as pleasing as your sight

So I can feel you all the day and night

And keep me from fading away…

Kokoro was composed by part of Millenial Faire, who did the Creid album with Yasuharu Nakanishi on guitar, Davy Spillane on low whistle and uillean pipes,  Yasunori Mitsuda on keyboards, KALTA on drums, and Watanabe on bass – and of course Joanne Hoagge from Xenogears singing the lyrics. Oh yes, the other cool thing is that this album is only $6 on Game Music‘s clearance sale – beats the heck out of the $18 it used to cost (only four songs!). Any Mitsuda fan is doing himself an injustice in passing up this opportunity.

One comment

  1. Wow, lovely track. Thanks for sharing.

    Just a heads-up, I uploaded some uncommon albums and posted them at Slightly Dark yesterday. Feel free to check them out; you just might find something you like.

    http://www.slightlydark.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2822&page=7



Leave a Reply

